Swellendam Area

Surrounded by the Langeberg mountain range and rolling wheat lands of the Overberg, Swellendam is the ideal location for the Old Mutual Wealth Double Century.

It is also one of the oldest towns in South Africa and offers more than 50 provincial heritage sites and easy access to the local Berry FarmFairy Sanctuary, and the Bontebok National Park established in 1931.

Today, sustainable numbers of the formerly endangered bontebok inhabit the area alongside Cape Mountain Zebra, bushbuck, Grey Rhebuck, Cape Grysbok, baboon, mongoose, genet, the occasional leopard, a particular species of ghost frog and a unique Forest Emperor Butterfly.

Over 200 bird species are found near the town and the area, which forms part of the Cape Floral Kingdom and is recognised as one of the most biologically diverse on earth.

In 2011 Swellendam re-declared itself a Republic – one that draws together the towns and villages of the Greater Swellendam Area, namely Swellendam, Suurbraak, Barrydale, Buffeljachts, Stormsvlei, Malagas and Cape Infanta. As such, it is the perfect base from which to explore the Overberg Region, its rich natural heritage, culture, architecture, wine lands, eateries and accommodation.

The people of the region are proud of their reputation for warm hospitality and owner-managed guest houses and restaurants. They look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Swellendam is situated on the N2, approximately 220 km from Cape Town and George.